PDA

View Full Version : Looking for iaido dojo in Meguro/Shinagawa

tatsutahime
1st March 2007, 13:16
Hi there,

I posted this thread at kendo-world.com, and they suggested I come here for better luck...

Anyway, I'm going to be moving from Hiroshima to Tokyo this coming April, and I'm looking for a good place to study Iaido. I studied the Toyama Ryu for a little less than a year while I was living in Kyushu on the JET program several years ago, but I'm looking to to try something more traditional next time I start up again. Maybe Mugai Ryu or MJER.

Anyway, I'll be working in Shinagawa and living in Meguro, so I'm looking for something in that area. If you have any information, I'd be really grateful. (Also, I speak Japanese fluently, so the teacher's English ability isn't an issue.)

wreddock
1st March 2007, 14:17
Hi there,
Maybe Mugai Ryu or MJER.
I think you will find many more Muso Shinden Ryu dojo than MJER. It's Kanto not Kansai.

Anyway, I'll be working in Shinagawa and living in Meguro, so I'm looking for something in that area.
Ask at the local Kuyakusho. Call the Budokan. I'm sure some members here will have dojo recommendations.

Also, I speak Japanese fluently
Wow - congratulations. I've been at it for more than 20 years but no where near fluent. :)

Eric Spinelli
2nd March 2007, 02:08
There is a machi-dojo (目黒区中央体育館 ) in Meguro that has (quite long) open hours for iai practice. While the instructors are all MSR there is at least one MJER practictioner with whom I could put you in touch. I can't speak on her qualifications, willingness, or ability to teach, but its a start.

The kendo dojo at the taikukan, at least in the past, was quite reknowned and there are many qualified teachers in other arts, including a SMR Menkyo Kaiden. If that doesn't interest you, perhaps people there could point you in the right direction.