PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about Judo

budostudent2007
8th March 2007, 02:39
I've been practicing Aikido for the last four years. I'm thinking about transitiong to Judo. I'm thinking about either practicing Judo as well as Aikido, or making a sole commitment to Judo. I've also thought about practicing Judo in addition to Shorinji Kempo (which I've never practiced), or Shorinji Kempo and Aikido. Or, if I happen to have enough time and money, Aikido, Shorinji Kempo, and Judo. I have a few questions for you guys. I love practicing Aikido, I think it's alot of fun, but am concerned about its "street validity," at least at my level. I believe Aikido can be very effective in real-world situations, but also believe it takes years of practice to reach that point. Hence, my recent interest in adding to my Aikido practice. Also, I've been told Judo has trouble dealing with punches; is that true? I appreciate any advice you guys have to offer.

Joseph Svinth
8th March 2007, 05:08
If you want to learn to box, take boxing. Seriously. Boxers have great workout routines, and their hand and head movement is very good. (Much better than traditional karate, in my opinion. Your mileage may vary.)

Judo classes are probably going to feel pretty casual to you, coming from an aikido background. Nonetheless, the principles are similar, except judo has more emphasis on resisting partners. Brazilian jujitsu classes are worth checking, too. The technique in BJJ is very similar to the technique in judo, but BJJ almost always provides more upfront training in groundwork.

What you have to ask yourself, though, is what you're really training for. Factor in cost, travel time, and whether the people in the club seem like nice folks. Then make your cost-benefit analysis from there.

budostudent2007
8th March 2007, 05:48