PDA

View Full Version : Striking and traditional vs modern...

Neil Hawkins
26th December 2000, 11:16
On a side note: I wondered how Koryu arts fair in the striking ranges alone..like all jujutsu I know that the hold escapes and pins-throws-locks are there, but I wondered how they compared in pure striking tactics and movement.Granted i did not take a koryu jujutsu/ryu art, but I was very disappointed over the striking skills taught in jujutsu when i studied..it was the guys with the karate backgrounds and jujutsu techniques that were the most effective. Jujutsu I found was very static in that grabs and attacks did not teach flow, adaptability, and principles. I have recently read some traditional jujutsu books and they impressed me much more. Why do you think these skills have been lost in modern jujutsu systems?

Micheal (Rolling Elbow) asked this in another thread, I thought it probably deserved it's own thread so here it is...

It must be remembered that traditionally Japan did not have much need for striking, most fights involved weapons and the development of unarmed fighting started from grappling in armour where strikes were almost useless. There were some strikes, usually aimed at specific targets, like joints or the throat. By the 1600's armour was not used as often and so some styles used strikes imported from China. Yoshin Ryu was allegedly one of the first, but others used strikes as well, most aimed at vital points such as those used in traditional medicine, so they used accuracy rather than power.

Most traditional styles utilise flowing circular motions similar to aikido, however the movement is not as pronounced and often can be shortcut to such an extent that it can be mistaken for linear action. Much of the sabaki and un-balancing was considered to be 'secret' by the style and so was not emphasised in kata or practice. Which is one of the reasons why some modern styles do not have them.