PDA

View Full Version : The value of sparring

ZachZinn
4th May 2007, 20:45
I know this has probably been talked to death, but i'd like to start a fresh talk on moderate to heavy jiyu-kumite (hope that's the correct term) in "traditional' Karate.

Basically I mean sparring in which there is enough contact that gear of some sort is a requirement to avoid serious injury.

At this point personally I feel this would be a valuable addition in our dojo, perhaps once or twice a month.

I should say here that I only received my shodan in December, and I am now running my small class (sadly ,my instructor has "retired" for now :().

I have some sparring experience in the past and have 2 sets of bogu gear, i'd like to hear people's thoughts on how to safely and sanely get started. I've been interested in doing this for years, and i'm feeling now is the time.

I'd also like to hear general opinions on the value of this kind of training.

shoshinkan
5th May 2007, 00:17
my personal view is that mouth guard, light body armour, light head gear, shins and light gloves is a good way forward to allow heavy contact with reasonable safety, for free and fixed kumite practice.

we also have compromised light contact work with no protective kit of course.

good lessons are learn't when a student is actually hit hard, the shock is an interesting feeling and also it allows the striker to get a feel for structure to penetrate the armour.

from green belt on in my dojo most (not all)students will begin to work in this way allong with progressive conditioning.

go for it, but build it up slowly and use plenty of contact drills to prepare students for harder kumite, semi fixed drills and free.

john_lord_b3
5th May 2007, 11:53
I agree with shoshinkan that this kind of training should be taken in small steps, building up from standard ippon kumite, progressively getting harder until you reach full contact with bogu.