PDA

View Full Version : Need Some Advice For Making a Makiwara

number 6
22nd May 2007, 20:35
Hello all.
I have been practicing Karate for the last 4 years and have decided that i would like to build myself a makiwara. So what i'm asking for is a bit of advice in making one, any help would be very appreciated.
My plan is to make one that is bracketed to the wall rather than one that is burried in the ground.
I was thinking of a piece of wood 3" x 3" at the base tapering up to 3 " x 1 and 1/2" at the top, but what wood should i use?
Any advice on how to bracket it to the wall?
And the padding for the striking area, what should i use? I know that traditionally rice straw/rope (is that right?) was used. Is this available anywhere, keep in mind that i live in ireland so i'm looking for somebody who delivers. And if not, does anybody have any sugestions on what i should use?
I have tried some of the bought, nailed to the wall variety, but didn't find these very good.

Thanks for any help that you can give me in advance.

Shane Mc Munn

ZachZinn
22nd May 2007, 22:07
Having felt the difference, I actually prefer leather to the rope etc., but I think that's less 'traditional' maybe. Will this makiwara have some 'give' after you bracket it to the wall?

Here is a good article on making a makiwara, I used these plans for a buried one and it's worked out great.

http://www.westseattlekarate.com/articles/MakiwaraTraining-Illustrated.pdf

number 6
22nd May 2007, 22:16
When i said bracketed to the wall, what i man to do is to use some kind of metal spacer that will be attached to the wall at one end at ground level and about a foot away the wooden shaft of the makiwara. I am very concious of the need for some give, hence my dislike of the bought ,stuck to the wall variety.
Thanks for the advice and the link and i am very open to stay away from the traditional and use something else.
this is going to be my summer project, starting as soon as i finish my exams.

Thanks