PDA

View Full Version : Shotokan Master Camp 2007

Kchef
14th June 2007, 19:23
I just returned from the Shotokan 2007 Master Camp up near Philly.

ISKF

500 attendees with some the best Karate instructors around!!!!

Wow!

3 trainings a day for 5 days was all my body could handle but I walked away pretty impressed.

Other than one knee being a bit swollen I couldn't have had more fun.

Instructors included:
Yutaka Yaguchi
Shigeru Takashina
Hiroyoshi Okazaki
Hideo Ochi
Hirokazu Kanazawa 10th Dan
Turuyuki Okazaki 9th Dan

Sesei Fields from Santa Monica, CA
Sensei Amin from spain
Kathy Cline from Washington
Gary Swain of Colorado

If wanted to sweat and work on your Karate, then the 2007 Master Camp was the place to be. If I had to tell you who I enjoyed the most as an instructor, I'd tell you it was Kanazawa & Fields but Swain was pretty impressive also. The most impressive quality about them was their ability to clearly explain techniques in a way that everyone immediately understood. They were just able to paint a picture in words that you could then quickly turn into actions.

Kanazawa was simply incredible though. He is the only living 10th Dan and his speed was still legendary even at his age. I'm glad I got a chance to meet and train him. It will be something I won't soon forget and to top it off he thought I had good concentration and my saying of the Dojo Kun in Japanese wasn’t bad either.

You certainly missed out if you didn’t make it.

K. Allen

Dawndelion
18th June 2007, 14:54
Thank you for the camp report. I attended 2005 and 2006 (couldn't find the money this year) and loved it. Ochi sensei from Germany was one of my faves, as was David Jones. I'm sorry I missed Kanazawa this year!

My sensei's sensei is Okazaki, trained under him since the tender age of 13, went along as they found the site for the camp way-back-when.