PDA

View Full Version : Which koryu?

PeterStezzor
15th June 2007, 12:48
Hi everyone!

I am new to this forum. (Please be kind!)

I have been practicing Kendo for about 4 or 5 years now. A few weeks ago, I had the opportunity of training with someone I don't normally see at any Kendo dojo in my area.

This guy was brilliant. I could not cut him.

I watched him train against more senior students than myself and they couldn't even touch him.

Some of the yodansha knew him and told me that he used to train very regularly but quit kendo. They told me that he does koryu now. However, nobody knows which style.

How can I find out what style this guy does?????????

Thank you,
Peter Stezzor

Tenseiga
15th June 2007, 13:31
Hi Peter,

Different ryu have different characteristics within their kata to make them distinct. A distinct kiai, different type of footwork, different ways of holding the sword, etc. However, especially during something as dynamic as kendo jikeiko, these things can become quite blurred.

The Itto ryu has a strong relation with modern kendo, and many students of the various Itto ryu branches also do modern kendo. Another one would be the Shindo Munen ryu.

Easiest thing, of course, would be to ask him :)

However, if you're never going to see him again, and you're just dying to find out, you'd have to do some research. YouTube has quite a lot of clips of various koryu, and there is the very awesome (and expensive) video series called "Nihon Kobudo", which features an extensive collection of different ryuha, documenting their techniques and history.

Sorry, but unless you can provide us with some video clips of this guy, or at least a detailed explanation of his movements and mannerisms, I don't think we can be of much help here.

George Kohler
15th June 2007, 14:10
I don't normally see at any Kendo dojo in my area.

I see that your in Melbourne.

Here are a few links I found that teach koryu in your area:

http://users.bigpond.net.au/koryu/index.html