PDA

View Full Version : Koryu in Central Pennsylvania

T_Anderson
15th July 2007, 02:14
A couple of years ago I moved to Central Pennsylvania - State College to be specific - and now after a lapse I would like to get involved again with jujutsu.

Are there any jujutsu or aikijujutsu dojo in central PA? I am not associated with Penn State but I did browse through their website and found some club aikido group but the webpage has not been updated in many years and again my primary interest would be in jujutsu.

I would be willing to drive ~45 minutes to a location, however Harrisburg would be just a bit too far for me to travel to and from a couple of nights a week.

Additionally I have had some practice in kenjutsu and I would like to get involved in that as well so if anybody knows of a kenjutsu dojo in central PA I would be grateful.

Anybody able to help me out?

Thanks,

Tim

Judokax8
15th July 2007, 23:37
I'm a judo instructor in Duncansville,PA just outside Altoona. There is an Aikido and Judo (Joseki Judo and Allegheny Aikikai )club in Altoona and my club in Duncansville.

There is also a Hapkido school in Altoona and a TKD school.

Penn State has the Quantum Judo club.

Peace

Dennis

T_Anderson
16th July 2007, 05:35
Dennis,

Thank you for the information. I may contact Allegheny Aikikai in regards to their jujutsu and aikido classes. Nothing personal about your judo school, but again I studied jujutsu for ~five years and would like to continue with that particular system (however my ukemi today is probably worse than when I started. . .).

Thanks for your help.

tim

morpheus
16th July 2007, 15:55
I think it is Harrisburg and you mentioned that would probably be too far to travel but if I were in the area I would want to train with this group.

www.ittendojo.org

A second option (not sure of distance) would be:

www.sakurabudokan.com

A third option (again not sure of the distance) would be Derek Steele's Daito ryu group in Philadelphia.