PDA

View Full Version : Starting a School

jmstallard
23rd July 2007, 21:04
I'm a freemason, and my lodge has a basement that's perfect for martial arts (high ceiling, tons of open space, and quiet). I pitched the idea to the master of the lodge, and he's very supportive of the idea of renting out the lodge. So now I'm kind of stuck. I have one contact I can start with (my old aikido sensei), but I'm looking for input on the best way to find people interested, and more importantly instructors who want a place to teach. I've never done anything like this before, and I know there's a lot of collective wisdom on this forum, so fire away. All opinions are appreciated.

Ideally, I'd want to get an Iaido class going, because that's something I want to learn myself, and there's nothing near me.

Joseph Svinth
24th July 2007, 02:21
Well, I suppose the first question is: Where are you located?

Judo, BJJ, aikido, taekwondo, and Japanese karate (e.g., Shotokan and similar schools) are generally not too hard to find. After that, it depends on who's in the neighborhood.

jmstallard
24th July 2007, 12:41
Oh...Columbus, Ohio. I don't want to steal, or appear to be stealing, students from existing dojos. That's kind of why I thought of Iaido; there aren't any classes around here (that I'm aware of).

Chris McLean
24th July 2007, 15:18
I have been teaching in a local High School here in Houston as a part of the Kick Start program for the last decade and I am moving across town to open another Kick Start school. I have allot of students in the neighborhood who want me to keep teaching. They have been taking karate for free. We had a meeting with my upper class students and came up with a plan.
We are going to invite a group to be founders and ask for a commitment in writing to help pay the lease on a Warehouse/office space. We can start from there. The founding members will be posted in the dojo.

Joseph Svinth
25th July 2007, 02:30