PDA

View Full Version : Bassai opening move

Henry
30th November 2008, 01:09
Hi everyone!

I'm new in these lands, and I come with a question. The rest I will bring up later, but what I have been pondering over recently is that in my (Kase Shotokan) version of Bassai Dai and Sho we begin with a slight forwards falling motion before stepping in to execute the double block, and I don't understand this temporary surrender of control.
Neither of my Sensei can explain it, so I wonder do any here have any insights regarding this?
Do other styles start their Bassai in this way?

Cheers
Henry Bellinger
Leicester, England

Dawndelion
30th November 2008, 01:44
Hi Henry -

The bassai I learned involves a very high kick, exploding into the move, then the falling forward and then the double block. I don't know why other schools of thought have minimized that first move. Bassai Dai is Storming the Fortress. It is a big, bold, powerful kata. How can you storm a fortress with that goofy little bastardized hippity hop at the beginning? It is a wimpy move and does not match the spirit of the kata, IMO.

I got yelled at and frustrated the hell out of one of the senseis at Karate Camp because I kept doing that big first move, as I was taught by my sensei, who was taught by his sensei, who is the creator of the karate camp. "JKA doesn't do it that way!!" the sensei screeched. I told him I am not a member of the JKA. Whatever.

I think the surrender of control has more to do with sensei not being able to raise his leg that high in old age or wanting to make the move more unique to his 'organization' when it split than it does to any more esoteric "martial" explanation.

Simon Keegan
30th November 2008, 09:16
Here's one interpretation, it's difficult to explain in words: