PDA

View Full Version : Why did you go to Japan? Why Koryu?

Dennis Hooker
6th February 2001, 20:12
I guess this question is directed at those of you that have spent a great deal of time in Japan seeking the elusive, or illusionary ideal of the warrior spirit as portrayed in western literature, and I assume Japanese writings as well. I do not speak or read Japanese so I have no first hand knowledge. I have read a lot of what has been translated into English and it was such ideals that set me on my, thus far, 40+-year journey. My experience in Japan was limited to R&R and the only thing I was looking for back in the world was good booze and girls to replace hooch and LBFM’s and cut some easy time.

Were you seeking the principle, or the envisage of the noble samurai, or were you seeking the fighting skill with antiquated weapons, or both? Did you have a reason for being there that was wholly related to seeking some vision? Were you on a vision quest?

I have met some mighty remarkable and fine Japanese teachers in my life and some have shaped my life after it was all but destroyed, both physically and mentally. I have also met some Japanese pricks and some braggarts that would not back up their clams as well. However, all these Japanese I have met were in the U.S. either living or visiting.

Did you find what you went after? Did the goal change after you learned a little more about what you wanted? Did you find all your teachers with feet of clay? Did you find any that wanted to be gods and played to the misconceptions of gullible minds? How did you handle these if they were also legitimate teachers within their schools?