PDA

View Full Version : Hon Tai Yoshin ryu

poryu
9th February 2001, 14:02
Does anyone here study Hon Tai Yoshin Ryu Jujutsu?

As part of my Bujinkan Dojo training I do the Takagi Yoshin Ryu. Historically they were one and the same until about 100 years ago.

I am interested in obtain videos so I can see the difference between the two now.

I would also like to l know if anyone has a kata list. I would like to compare the names of the kata between the two schools see the structure etc to compare the differences in the two.

thanks in advance

Todd Schweinhart
9th February 2001, 22:58
Mr. Richardson,
I am a student of Hontai Yoshin Ryu and the Bujinkan. I would be happy to discuss some of the similarities of these two particular ryu via email. My address is TODDSBUDO@AOL.COM. Look forward to hearing from you.
Best,
Todd Schweinhart
Louisville KY

Neil Hawkins
10th February 2001, 01:41
For more info on Hontai Yoshin Ryu see:

http://www.geocities.co.jp/Athlete/8136/ and
http://www.hyrusa.com/

Regards

Neil

poryu
10th February 2001, 18:50
Thanks guys.

I have seen these two sites before. I have also used the Koryu.com link to look at the sites they list and the links on those site.

They have some excellent pics., and a few great history.

I have amassed a large collection of history on the Takagi Yoshin Ryu line which I am happy to share, but when it gets to Ishitani (Ishiya) it branches off wildly into the seperate branches. Thats where my history is lacking.

I would love to find out more about Kakuno who studied under Ishitani.

Neil Hawkins
11th February 2001, 02:00
Paul,

Their are stories of links between Takagi Ryu and Tsutsumi Hozan Ryu, do you have anything that corroborates this? There is little available from the Tsutsumi side, but I have not had much luck finding details from your side.

Links are also claimed between Tsutsumi Hozan Ryu and Kukishin Ryu, have you reseached them as well?

Anything you have on this would be appreciated.