PDA

View Full Version : Koryu Kenjutsu in St. Louis?

Lucas Yochum
16th September 2009, 06:06
Good morning, everyone-
I'm sure this has been asked before by someone, but I'm a total newbie (technically, not even that) in the area of Koryu sword styles, so if anyone can help.....I've spent the past few weeks looking for a Koryu Kenjutsu style in the St. Louis, MO area, and have come up completely empty-handed.

Does anyone know where I might have some luck with that, or is St. Louis only have Kendo available?

Any info, positive or negative, would be deeply appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
-Lucas Yochum

morpheus
18th September 2009, 16:52
Mr. Yochum,

I would say that you are indeed lucky. St. Louis has instruction available in a couple of weapons based ryu.

Mr. Dave Lowry teaches both Shinto Muso ryu and Yagyu Shinkage ryu. he is a member of this forum and is available via private message. He is a great guy and has a fabulous group of students. Feel free to send him a private message.

Good luck and maybe we will train togehter in the future.

Jeff

Lucas Yochum
18th September 2009, 17:39
Jeff-
Thanks for the reply! I will have to do just that.
-Lucas Yochum

morpheus
20th September 2009, 17:00
Lucas,

No problem. Dave is a great teacher and great guy. You are definitely in a good spot. I hope everything works out for you.

Jeff

Lucas Yochum
21st September 2009, 02:53
Jeff-
Thanks again. It's funny; I had taken an interest in Koryu styles a bit back, and as a matter of research, read "Autumn Lightning." I really enjoyed it, so it was an interesting coincidence to get that message from you.

So just out of curiousity, what form do you study, and for how long? Why did you get in to the old Japanese styles?
-Lucas Yochum

dewey
1st October 2009, 21:04
Yes Lucas,