PDA

View Full Version : Deadly weapon register?

DasaMan
5th October 2009, 06:05
Hi, my name is Dimas Aryo Sasongko. I am an on/off student of wado ryu karatejutsu in Indonesia.

In Indonesia, there seems to be understanding that black belts in japan are required to register as deadly weapon. My understanding is that this practice is only limited during budo ban, not continued until today. But some insist that this is the case.

Since I don't have any direct contact in Japan, can anyone verify this?

thank you.

Dimas Aryo Sasongko

DasaMan
8th October 2009, 08:38
Hi again. Sorry for bumping the thread.

So no one can verify or deny this deadly weapon register when one achieve yudansha status in Japan for certain?

thank you.

Dimas Aryo Sasongko

Lance Gatling
8th October 2009, 11:05
It is not true.

epramberg
22nd October 2009, 14:10
Hi, my name is Dimas Aryo Sasongko. I am an on/off student of wado ryu karatejutsu in Indonesia.

In Indonesia, there seems to be understanding that black belts in japan are required to register as deadly weapon. My understanding is that this practice is only limited during budo ban, not continued until today. But some insist that this is the case.

Since I don't have any direct contact in Japan, can anyone verify this?

thank you.

Dimas Aryo Sasongko

That is a rumor that someone started so that they could sound cool.

kenkyusha
26th October 2009, 23:42
black belts in japan are required to register as deadly weapon.
While not true, I can't help but find the thought of a spindly 17 year-old sandan in Go having to register rather pleasing in a perverse way...:laugh:

Be well,
Jigme

Black and Blue
30th October 2009, 04:59
Although you do not have to register, if you are a martial artist and you get in a fight you better be able to show good reason or your black belt will be used against you in court.

Phil Scudieri

Hissho
30th October 2009, 16:04
Phil is correct.