PDA

View Full Version : Question on katana dents

Ken-Hawaii
22nd February 2010, 05:36
I have a zinc-beryllium iaito that I had made in Tokyo about 10 years ago that gets swung for 5-6 hours each week in MJER & Shinto-Ryu. On the left side of the mune (while holding the katana), there are hundreds of tiny dents going the entire length of the blade. There are no dents at all on the right side of the mune. I'm right-handed, my saya is made of the usual ho wood, & there is nothing but wood at the koiguchi. I don't really notice the dents when doing noto, but am starting to wonder if they might cause eventual blade failure.

I've been a professional engineer for 40+ years, & have worked with metals for most of that time, but I'm absolutely stumped. One other student in our dojo has a few dents on his mune, but nothing like mine.

Any ideas???

pgsmith
22nd February 2010, 17:17
Hey Ken,
Could it be flaws in the copper or chrome plating? As long as the plating is not actually flaking off, it should be fine as long as it doesn't bother your practice.

Ken-Hawaii
22nd February 2010, 18:29
Paul, as far as I can tell, there isn't any difference in the plating in & around the dents. I know there's some question on whether zinc-beryllium blades are plated at all, but in any case, the dents are far deeper (1/16 inches) than could be accounted for by plating problems. And of course with dents only on one side of the mune, plating problems wouldn't make much sense....

I'm not yet panicked about the blade breaking, although our Sensei's last iaito did fail catastrophically a few months ago, & I had to (literally) jump over the piece that went skittering across the dojo floor towards me. I just can't imagine what would be causing the dents in the first place!

DDATFUS
22nd February 2010, 18:49
I just can't imagine what would be causing the dents in the first place!

Do you have a significant other with a wicked sense of humor?

Ken-Hawaii
22nd February 2010, 19:04
Ha, ha....