PDA

View Full Version : interested

gonosen
19th February 2001, 19:42
I'm a kararte student who is interested in taking kendo or iaido. I was wondering what is the difference and similiarities are between the two. I also wanted to know how much money(U.S.) I would have to spend to buy decent equipment in order start out. Please send any advice you can give me. Thanks.

Gordon Smith
22nd February 2001, 15:20
I took pretty much the same path while coming to iai.

I started down the Kendo path. Kendo is the sport aspect of swordsmanship. With the group I tried, I only had to show up, and they had spare shinai and armor. After a few sessions, I bought my own shinai (~$25 as I recall). You weren't pressured to buy your own armor unless your eally wanted to. I had some difficulties with kendo, as at the time, the assistant instructor was there more often than the instructor, and the assistant could not adequately explain some of the more esoteric aspects of kendo - specifically, the purpose of pre-kiaiing. I had been taught to conceal your power and spirit until you struck, whereas there is a much more open display in kendo. I couldn't get past what I interpreted as a "psyche-up" factor, and felt too silly standing and kiaiing without actually doing anything else.

Shows my inexperience :)

Now after doing iai for some time (though woefully less now than earlier), I can see many of the advantages of kendo, and would love to take it up again. I've talked with my iai instructor (who also teaches kendo), and think I could do a better job internalizing.

Iai, I really like, due to the solitary, meditative aspects. Iai consists of a series of solo forms with the sword. You continuously repeat those forms until they become so ingrained, that should you ever need to use them, they will flow nearly effortlessly. A really bad nutshell, but there you go...