PDA

View Full Version : Shorinji Kempo in Luxembourg

grifd437
11th June 2010, 13:41
Hi folks,

Luxembourg is a bit like the Shire (if you'll pardon the comparison). The people there like there food, a good smoke, enjoy a good drink more than occasionally and things rarely ever change there either.
The reasons for saying this will soon become clear.

Luxembourg is dominated by this thing called FLAM (Federation of Lux. Martial Arts) and they are not incredibly diverse in what they offer: Karate, Judo, Taekwondo and that's about it.

I studied Shorinji Kempo quite seriously during my time at university (Glasgow) and even managed to get myself a shiny black belt and would quite like to carry on studying and practicing it.

The problem is that since then I have been unable to find any dojos remotely near Luxembourg, the closest ones being in Berlin and Paris (i.e. not QUITE within walking distance) and I cannot see either of the Federations opening up a dojo in Luxembourg either.

And now my question: is there anyone out there who happens to be in Luxembourg, at least a Sandan, willing to start a dojo (and all that jazz) or am I barking up the wrong tree?

If not, is there anyone in Luxembourg who has even HEARD of Shorinji Kempo and who might want to meet up just to talk shop?

Any takers?

P Goldsbury
11th June 2010, 13:50
You did not mention aikido, but a small federation has been operating in Luxembourg for many years. The aikido federation is a member of the FLAM.

As for SK, well, you might need to start a new group.

Best wishes,

ken70
11th June 2010, 17:58
You can open your own dojo and train, for example in France (with Aosaka Senseď), and then become the first Branch Master in Luxembourg.....

Luxembourg-Paris : by the A4 highway = 408 km - 5h05min... ;)

http://shorinjikempo.fr/contact/

Bon courage!

jailess
11th June 2010, 23:58
Don't you want to come back to us, Danny Boy? No plans to return?

JL.
12th June 2010, 06:34
Gassho!