PDA

View Full Version : Hakkoryu- having some trouble

newtmonkey
8th October 2010, 05:37
I searched a bit for Hakkoryu on this forum, but it doesn't seem there are many people practicing this style here.

Anyway, a quick introduction: I am currently living in Nagoya, Japan (since about 2.5 years ago). My martial arts history here:

03/2008 arrived in Japan, started taking Aikido
07/2008 moved and had to drop Aikido class, joined a Daitoryu (Roppokai) class (dropped shortly after, not a style I am interested in)
11/2008 joined Hakkoryu class
??/2009 found a Daitoryu (Saigo-ha) class, joined up
09/2010 due to work I had to drop the Daitoryu class
09/2010 joined Judo club

I really would have liked to continue with the Saigo-ha Daitoryu class, but my work schedule made it impossible (I have to work on Saturdays, which is the only day the class meets). So now I am studying Hakkoryu and Judo.

With that out of the way, there are a few things that worry me about Hakkoryu as I am learning it:

-advancement to shodan was extremely quick, a little under one year and a half. I was advanced even though I am not comfortable at all with a couple of the shodan technqiues against a resisting opponent

-my class is basically 99% wrist defense. I managed to get the official textbooks (which are not very good imo, with poor pictures and overly simple explanations), and there is not much in there besides wrist counters. I don't have the sandan book, so I can't say for certain if this is the case all the way to the end or not. I also have Dennis Palumbo's series of books, and he has these "walking exercises" in there, but we don't do that at all in my class and they are not including in the official books published by the hombu dojo.

Basically, I am losing interest fast in Hakkoryu and while I'd hate to throw away the 2 years or so I have spent on it, I also don't want to throw away the equivalent of $50 a month on something that is quickly losing its appeal.