PDA

View Full Version : Please help me out>>>

Patrick
5th March 2001, 05:22
I studied Shorinji Kempo off and on for several years, attaining the rank of green belt. I became too busy with college and then the early part of my career to continue, and now I am considering going back.

My local sensei is absolutely phenomenal, IMO he is the best instructor, irregardless of style, in the area. However, I believe he withdrew fromthe WSKO several years back over philosophical differences, i.e. he felt American students were not interested in the religious aspect (and he's right to an extent. I am Catholic, and while not devout per se, and am not interested in praying to Buddhist gods, although I recognize and appreciate the more esoteric parts of the style's beliefs). Our instructor does not give the written tests concerning philosophy et al. when testing for promotion. Does this exclude me from a thorough participation in Shorinji Kempo? Can I be a successful student? If indeed we are no longer part of WSKO can I ever hope to travel to Japan to study there, or to attend North American seminars taught by HQ instructors?

I am very distressed about this. I love the style and my instructor but I don't want to be hamstrung because I don't subscribe to all of the beliefs.

colin linz
5th March 2001, 10:02
Patrick,

I strongly recommend that you read some of the philosophy of Shorinji Kempo. I really don't believe that you will find that it differs greatly to many Christian concepts. It definitely does not require you to pray to any Buddhist gods. In fact they try to promote a more self reliant attitude, and not get to tied up with gods. They believe that it's a waste of time debating about them, and that we are better too spend this time thinking of how we can improve ourselves, and gaining a better understanding of the world that we live in now.