PDA

View Full Version : Requesting a personal mentor for a school project, Please Read

GaryH
7th March 2001, 10:22
Hello forum members :)

I am posting as the topic says to request a mentor.
My school is doing a senior project, in which we choose an area of interest and do more than just learn about it, we get in depth hands-on work in it. I chose to delve into JSAs admittedly influenced by the RK Japanese manga. I started taking Shinkendo lessons a few months back and I have found it extremely fun and enjoyable overall, even though I will never be able to do a Ryu-Tsui-sen. :D

But seriously, this project requires a real life person that is experienced in the subject I am studying, and since there is no one at my school with JSA experience, I need to seek out a mentor in the online JSA world.

Mentors would be a person wiling to help me with any questions I might have concerning the arts, and sword etiquette by e-mail. I already asked my teacher if I could just use he online forums, but she denied that saying I need one person that she can contact on the phone. The required information that I will need about the mentor is: "Project Mentor, Mentor Work Title, Mentor Company Name, Mentor Address, City, State, Zip Code, Mentor Phone Number 1, Mentor Phone Number 2" Only if applicable of course. If you feel weird about giving out information to some guy on the internet, I can have my teacher call you on the phone or something like that.

If you are interested and have the time, please do post or send me an email at thatguy@repairman.com .

I am in La Crescenta, CA. 91214 and as I said, I'm studying in Shinkendo, so I won't need someone to actually teach me a sword art, just answer questions about them. The teacher has also mentioned it would be *nice* if the mentor came to the presentation when it is made. (On a Saturday at school)

Well, I've talked enough. :D
Thank you for your time everyone,

--Gary Hill

ghp
8th March 2001, 02:31
So Gary,