PDA

View Full Version : My lack of understanding?

DZRMAN
19th March 2001, 03:02
I have a Question: How does meditation fit in with the martial arts?

Devon Smith
19th March 2001, 03:13
Define "meditation", please!

Rob
19th March 2001, 22:25
I have to agree and expand upon Devon's answer..

What sort of meditation ? what sort of martial art ? in fact come to think of it.. what do you mean by usefull..

But to try and get the ball rolling..

For myself I try and practice Zen Mediatation (Zazen) daily... I find that the technical process of learning to control my body and my breathing and then eventually moving that control to an unconscious level allowing my intelletual, conscious mind to empty had direct parralels with the feeling of Mushin I have experienced during particularly intense practice of Jiu Jitsu...

As an instructor I have been known to have my class sit quietly conentrating on breathing and then visualising a 'perfect throw' before getting up and performing the technique.. not technically meditation but using very similar processes..

I am sure there are others out there more qualified... perhaps someone from Shorinji Kempo might comment as that is a fairly unique blend of art and religion as I understand it ?

DZRMAN
20th March 2001, 12:56
I'm not trying to bait or take pot shots at anyone. I have a very simple question. How does mediatation fit in the martial arts? It almost seems that people are afraid to answer questions here, so they ask more questions like "What does mediatation mean?" I was under the impression that this fourm is about mediatation. I now see what this fourm is really about.

thanks for all the insight.

Tucker Peterson
20th March 2001, 14:14
DZRMAN-