PDA

View Full Version : Nishio Sensei's Ken and Jo question.

tawassel
21st March 2001, 05:02
For anyone who as any practical knowledge of Shoji Nishio Sensei's Aikitoho and his use of ken and jo in Aikido training I have a couple of questions.

1) From a Koryu standpoint how does Aikitoho rate? That is what do you feel are its strong points and weak points?

2) How much does Nishio Sensei's jo resemble Shinto Muso-ryu jo and how much do you feel has been changed or adapted to Aikido principles?

3) Do you feel that Aikitoho can stand on its own as a sword art or (as has been suggested with Saito Sensei's Aikiken and Aikijo) is it best used as a tool to understand Aikido?

I would appreciate any thoughts you have on these questions. I am currently studying Nishio Aikido and Aikitoho but I have no experience in older sword arts and I am wondering what the Koyru community thinks.

Thank you in advance.

Meik Skoss
21st March 2001, 19:00
T. Wassel wrote: "For anyone who has any knowledge of Shoji Nishio Sensei's aiki toho and his use of ken and jo in aikido training I have a couple of questions.

1) From a koryu standpoint how does aiki toho rate? That is what do you feel are its strong points and weak points?

2) How much does Nishio Sensei's jo resemble Shinto Muso-ryu jo[jutsu] and how much do you feel has been changed or adapted to aikido principles?

3) Do you feel that aiki toho can stand on its own as a sword art or (as has been suggested with Saito's aiki jo and aiki ken) is it best used as a tool to understand aikido?

I would appreciate any thoughts you have on these questions. I am currently studying Nishio aikido and aiki toho but I have no experience in older sword arts and I am wondering what the koyru community thinks."