PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a good dojo in Europe

fulcrum2988
28th October 2013, 19:03
Hello everyone,

Im a student of Yagyu Shinkage Ryu, Tai Mantis and Tai Chi. I was born and live in India. I was wondering if you guys could point out some good teachers/dojos in Europe. They dont have to be Yagyu, they can be any style of Kenjutsu/Kendo/Iaido. Im more interested in finding very good teachers. I have been researching on the net for a bit, but i dont know how to separate skill from hype.
Any help will really really be appreciated.

Thank you

Brian Owens
29th October 2013, 06:30
...Im a student of Yagyu Shinkage Ryu... I was wondering if you guys could point out some good teachers/dojos in Europe. ... I have been researching on the net for a bit, but i dont know how to separate skill from hype.

You should check with your current sensei; he should be able to provide a contact for you as well as a letter of introduction to the new sensei.

Europe is a pretty broad area; can you narrow it down a bit?

fulcrum2988
29th October 2013, 11:49
You should check with your current sensei; he should be able to provide a contact for you as well as a letter of introduction to the new sensei.

Europe is a pretty broad area; can you narrow it down a bit?

The problem is that most of the people my Sensei knows have either died, or have not kept in touch.

Right now i was hoping to get some names of well known, good teachers or dojos. Just to get some some options. So any masters or good dojos that you might have heard of operating in Europe. Any leads would be greatly appreciated.

Tripitaka of AA
29th October 2013, 12:41
On the other hand, I could just do a trawl of websites and send spam messages to all of them and really come across as someone who wants everything for free.

Can you see how this thread could be misinterpreted by cynics?

fulcrum2988
30th October 2013, 14:57