PDA

View Full Version : Eishin-ryu schools still teaching Kumi-tachi sets

Dojo Dave
28th May 2014, 13:22
If this is a repeat post I apologise in advance, I havesearched the forums and have not found an exact match.
I am looking for a Dojo either in Japan or abroad teachingMuso Jikiden Eishin-ryu that also still teaches the full sets of Kumi-tachiwaza. According to Wikipedia (I realise they are not always accurate) there are five sets. I have seen a couple ofschools that teach one or two of the sets but not all.
I have been studying Eishin-ryu for about three years, inthe lineage I am part of we only do the 4 solo waza and set of 7 Touhou waza.Currently I am also training in Shinto Musu-ryu (4 years) and started Daito ryuabout 18 months ago. From my other training I am fully aware of how importantsolo form training is for development, but I feel there are a number of aspectssuch as distancing against the opponent, timing ect. that can only be gained bytraining with a partner.
Any links or contact information for Dojos/organizationsstill teaching these sets would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you in advance,
D.Mcleary

gendzwil
28th May 2014, 16:26
If you want to learn distance and timing against a partner, how about you take up kendo?

Dojo Dave
29th May 2014, 00:49
If you want to learn distance and timing against a partner, how about you take up kendo?

The other arts I am learning have distance and timing against a parntner. However if you start playing with the timings and distances from other styles to try and fix what you are doing you end up going like Bujinkahn and loose the essence of the ryu and intended meaning of the waza.