PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Texas!

Ichiro
18th May 2015, 04:53
I just ran across this site today... so to introduce myself a little about me and my martial arts background. I started training in Kyokushin Karate in 1981 while stationed at the Naval Training Center in Orlando, Florida. My teacher was Sensei J.R. Swanson. His teacher was Shihan Darrell Wilson who was promoted to 6th Dan by Sosai Mas. Oyama personally.

We were briefly under Shihan Y. Oyama and Seiko Shihan Shigeru Oyama (1982-1985) My nikyu certificate is signed by Seiko Shihan Oyama. When Seiko Shihan Oyama split away to form World Oyama Karate, we stayed with Sosai Oyama.

I was promoted to shodan in 1986 and nidan in 1989 in Kyokushin. In 1987 I began teaching my own classes and had my own students up until the end of 2001 when I returned to active duty with the United States Navy (I previously served for almost 10 years, leaving in 1986). During this period I attended Kyokushin seminars with Hanshi Steve Arneil, Shihan Bobby Lowe, Kancho Akiyoshi Matsui, Shihan John Farrell, Shihan Mike Monaco, and Shihan Bill Richards. I also attended seminars with Morio Higaonna (Goju-ryu), George Dillman (Ryukyu Kempo) and Leon Jay (Small Circle JuJitsu).

After my teacher retired from teaching (due to health reasons) I met and trained with Shihan Bill Richards beginning around 1994 after Sosai had passed away. I attended a clinic with him in Hawaii in 1995 and had the opportunity to train with Kancho Matsui and Shihan Bobby Lowe. I also met Shihan Michael Monaco around this time. When Shihan Monaco and Shihan Richards left IKO to join IFK under Hanshi Steve Arneil, I decided to also join IFK after discussing it with my sensei. I was fortunate to also have the opportunity to attend multiple seminars with Hanshi Arneil and train with Shihan Monaco in addition to Shihan Richards. I took fighters to the American International Karate Championships in 1998 and 1999.