PDA

View Full Version : Dillman and Montaigue

Gogita9x
5th April 2001, 07:32
I am a JKD/jujutsu student but I am interested in pressure point and acupressure fighting.
I have heard a lot about George Dillman and Earle Montaigue. I was just wondering if Dillman's seminars and training or training under Montaigue would be a good choice.
Both men talk about pressure point and acupuncture techniques and I was wondering if they were actually valid sources?

M.C. Busman
10th April 2001, 19:13
Dillman and Montaigue both base their pressure point theory on the old Chinese meridian system. To be honest, there are better books out there by people who have backgrounds in medicine and science. Pat McCarthy's site has some terrific refs, my personal favorite is a series of small, unadorned books by a fellow named Bruce Everett Miller. Off the top of my head, I believe he's a physician's Assistant (I think this takes 4 years and includes a lot of anatomy). His approach is practical and does away with a lot of the superstitious mumbo jumbo people are making a fortune off of selling. The information is practical and not only explains why things work, but why some other theories DON'T make sense. There are a few other good schools of though out there too. I think Rick Moneymaker has decent materials, and I hope I'm thinking of the right guy when I say Vince Morris (New Zealand? Oz? help...).