PDA

View Full Version : Dillman and Montaigue

Gogita9x
5th April 2001, 07:34
I am a JKD/ Jujutsu student but I am interested in pressure point and acupressure fighting.
I have heard a lot about George Dillman and Earle Montaigue. I was just wondering if Dillman's seminars and training or training under Montaigue would be a good choice.
Both men talk about pressure point and acupuncture techniques and I was wondering if they were actually valid sources?

6th April 2001, 21:24
Gogita9x:
1) Are these stylist reputable individuals?
2) Are they into the M.A.s for personal glory and financial gain?
3) Did both of them learn and master a system that encompasses the total fighting gamut, or are they just masters of supposed p.p. (pressure point) fighting?
4) Are their principles scientifically sound for any situation/confrontation, or are they only effective on a willing participant/victim (as opposed to an adrenaline-enraged individual[s])?
If you ask yourself these type of questions you will reach a conclusion (along with some personal research, rather than others opinions) as to which is the most qualified to teach p.p. techniques. My personal perspective is that if you can't prove that the person in question has integrity and the respect of many of his peers (not only in his "art" but in other styles as well) then it's better just to stay away. If you're looking for legitimate styles (not stylists) that incorporate Okinawan Ti in their systems, then I would recommend taking up the Ryukyuan-based systems of Matsumura Seito Shorin Ryu, Bugeikan and Motobu Ryu (to name a few). For a good Chinese system that includes numerous p.p. techs, many would consider Fukien (Shaolin) White Crane a good style to practice. I don't want to comment on either Montaigue or Dillman as p.p. experts, but I will say that the former may be more on the up and up. Good luck...and stay away from shortcuts! Peace...
Bryan L.C.

Gogita9x
7th April 2001, 12:57
Bryan,