PDA

View Full Version : Self defence situations

Kurgan
5th April 2001, 11:36
Hello all,

I know this is a typical question but let me ask it anyway:
I was wondering if anybody has had the opportunity of using their martial art in a combat situation, and if you have, what exactly could you remember ?

Thanks for any input on this :)

Regards :nin:

kukai
5th April 2001, 12:12
OK, boys'n'girls, take a seat and listen quietly.
It was about 6 years ago, while i was a police officer. A case of robbery, two suspects at run. I got separated from the rest, pursuing on of the suspects on foot (a mile run, no joy) . Finaly reached him, got him cornered and so we fought. He was on drugs, did'nt even blink when i jabbed his eyes. A groin grab helped a little ( a golden target, hehee) and then for the good old shimewaza. Took time and effort but i got him cuffed. That's when i really believed in KISS.

Be well

Sven Salumets

Den
5th April 2001, 17:57
I've read a number of stories in different forums in which Aikidoka and Aikijutsuka have had to practice their art in self-defense. The most dramatic are usually police officers.

I've had two experiences myself. One in which a guy a bit bigger than myself decided I was an easy mark to pick on. He pushed me out of his way while waiting in line for take-out food. When I responded with a sarcastic "excuse me," he told me he'd meet me outside. Sure enough he was waiting for me, and charged me as I tried to talk him out of that course of action. I was definitely afraid, I had less than a year of aikido training nevertheless I moved without too much thought. An irimi to his right side, I slid my left arm up his chest as if to do kokyu, but then wrapped my arm around his neck and dropped my weight. I forget the name of the technique, but I held onto his neck with my left arm and his right hand with mine. After a few seconds of pointless struggle I said to him, "this is over, okay!" When I let him up he just stormed off.