PDA

View Full Version : where do I go now?

Hudson1984
9th September 2017, 19:58
Hi all, i'm hoping someone can really get rid of my arrogance!!

I've been training karate for a few years now, and currently about to go for 1st Kyu, now over the last couple of months i've changed jobs which means I can no longer get to the sessions I used to and don't have the space to train kata at home (can do Kihon etc but I just don't have space for Kata unless I stop and start)

Now, i've looked around at other clubs and they just seem bloody awful! There's a few big clubs that hit the competition circuit (not a well known circuit, more of the small open tournaments = better chance of success and be able to put a post of a trophy on facebook....not for me) and a few that just seem to be rub by people with very different standards. Now don't get me wrong i'm not great (would generally say i'm about average) but I want a sensei I can respect and, well, admire. The one's i've seen so far are terrible, lots of unnessary hand movement, lot's of social media posts, lots of rubbish - very little substance.

So, I just don't know what to do. If I had my black belt i'd just start a "study group" and train somewhere with others but I still need instruction I need showing right from wrong.

I really don't want to stop. But there's literally no clubs that I can get to and as much as i'd like to I can't stop working. I'd spoken with my current sensei who had suggested that he'll be starting a later session but this actually turned into the same time as other classes he already runs. I have been practicing Judo and I attend a monthly study group for Daito Ryu, both of which I can continue but I still yearn for Karate.

I don't know what to do. Do I suck it up, find a club I can go to and just go through the motions until I grade to Shodan and then go my own way within another Association. Do I train myself and attend as many seminars as I can.. Bah what to do what to do

Brian Owens