PDA

View Full Version : Need some help with a polishing question.

TysonWalters
24th April 2001, 04:05
Hi all, this is just a open question for some help, as I need some. Right now I am in the process of making a training weapon to aid me in some tanto waza I am learning. So what I'm making right now is the blade. I have ground down the metal, which is just stock stainless steel to the shape I want, and have proceeded to sand it down. Now the metal is not dull anymore, but its not quite the nice finish I am after. Ok so there is the back ground info.

My question is then, how do I make a very nice looking finish on this blade and on this metal.

This is my first time trying to put a nice finish on a blade, and so far I have sanded down to 120 grit, with plans to do a progressive finer sanding job.

Also, this training weapon is not meant to cut, but rather to be used safely with a training partner if that helps at all.

Is it wrong to sand? If so is there anything else I can do?

Once again, thank you very much, any help would be very much appreciated for this novice weapon maker!

Tyson Walters

If you wish to email me and give some advice you can send mail to tysonwalters@hotmail.com

pgsmith
26th April 2001, 02:07
Hi Tyson,