PDA

View Full Version : Is Aikido for me?

Emil
17th May 2001, 22:34
I have made the decision to study martial arts. I would appreciate any feedback from those who have knowledge and experience in Aikido. I have done a little research and it appears that Aikido could be the most suitable form for me, but there are some questions. Aikido drew my attention for several reasons. I have been a police officer for about 10 years and a few incidents recently have alerted me that my unarmed self defense and control skills are lacking. I have become involved in some confrontations that have escalated into uses of force which I later believed could have been avoidable had my empty hand skills been better. As I understand it, Aikido is based more on control and diversion of attack rather than a more offensive approach. I also have noted that many of the empty hand techniques used in police defensive tactics are quite similar to Aikido techniques. This is favorable because the defensive moves in Aikido would blend well with other 'approved' tactics. This was the first aspect that drew me. I also am drawn to Aikido because of the many spiritual aspects. From what I have read the aspects of self-awareness that Aikido fosters would also benefit me. I am a Catholic person and would not view Aikido as any type of religious faith, but it appears that the teachings of Aikido seem to go rather well with my personal beliefs. I see the values and spitiual aspects as beneficial, in many ways. But these are my concerns. I am 33 years old and in good-but not great physical shape. I am 5-11 and about 198. I feel that I am about 10-15 lbs overweight. With that said my concern is I have knee problems. I am able to run, jump, and move without problem, but my knees ache a lot. My flexability has always been minimal and I am in pain whenever I kneel or hold my legs in a bent position. I attempted to assume the Aikido sitting position which I saw a picture of and I was unable to do it. I could not