PDA

View Full Version : Aikido vs. other disciplines (physical aspects)

Emil
18th May 2001, 18:48
Hello. I posted on the general Budo area and it was recommended that I come here for some information. I'll skip the whole story, which is posted in that area. But in a nutshell, here's my dilemma. I've been a police officer for several years in a large dept. I reassigned to investigations a while back and about a year ago I chose to return to street work. It's a bit like being reborn, exciting again, dangerous again. Conflict and combat has a way of making you breath better and feel better.... I've always believed that survival is a triangle of training areas: firearms skill, driving skill, and empty hand defensive tactics skill. I've trained extensively in firearms, all types of training and I'm comfortable that my skills are above average at least. I'm also comfortable with my driving abilities. But I'm am convinced that my hand to hand skills are 'in great need' to say the least. Several contacts have resulted in high levels of force being used-which leads to complaints, lawsuits, and injury. None of which I fear, but I'd rather avoid them if possible. It is clear that if my empty hand control skills were sharper at least some of these uses of force could have been avoided....