PDA

View Full Version : Back Problems And Martial Arts

RIM 29
8th June 2001, 00:28
Hi.
I saw PHILBERT's thread about scoliosis and how it affects his balance. I was diagnosed with that as a child, but "grew out of it" after about 5 years. I have, however, had back problems since high school. (I'm in my early 20's now). I just started training in the Bujinkan, (literally JUST started last week). I was wondering if anyone else out there has suffered from back problems, what they do to remedy the problem, etc etc.

I've found that just by doing simple stretches that I can alleveate 95% of the problem right there. (I'm talking about stretching for everyday life, not just sports or martial arts) This sounds ridiculously obvious, but if you're just not naturally flexible, it's REALLY hard to start!

It took me 23 years to get to the point where I just had to force myself to spend the time (and pain) to become more flexible. Now it's a lot better than it was.

Thanks!!!

Ryan Rogers

NoMan
8th June 2001, 07:49
A brother in misery :toast:

I've had back problems for a while now, and with family genetics, am going to end up a crippled old man. Won't let that stop me now though :D

Here's a few things you can do.

1.) Strengthen your ab muscles. They support your upper torso, and if your abs are weak, your posture slouches, and your lower back has to take a larger portion of the stress.

2.) Strengthen your back muscles. Read answer one, pretty much the same thing.

3.) If you run, be careful. Don't run on concrete or excessively hard surfaces, pay attention to your running form, try to step with the balls of your feet, not the heel. Running on the heel creates a jarring sensation in your spine.

4.) How you sleep. Certain sleeping positions are more harmful to your spine than others. You may need to check with a doctor.