PDA

View Full Version : Kodokan Goshin Jutsu

TIM BURTON
10th June 2001, 15:07
Hi Everyone,
My studies include trying to understand and perfect the Goshin Jutsu of Kodokan Judo.
I was wondering if any of you out there had any thing to say about these particular techniques.
In particular their history, where did the Kodokan sensei take the techniques from, was it Aikijutsu or Jujutsu?
What thought process did the Kodokan follow to arrive at these particular techniques chosen above others?
You get my drift, anything you have to say will be welcome, get tapping those keys.

Simon Ford-Powell
10th June 2001, 15:38
Tim, in my style of Jiu Jitsu, we study this Kata as well. I am no expert at all but having practiced Aikido as well as Judo and Jiu Jitsu, I have to say that there is a strong Aiki influence and as a consequence, SOME of the choices of technique are quite bizarre for a "self defence" kata. I believe in the mists of time I was told that Kenji Tomiki had been on the technical panel when it was devised, but I'm not certain of that. It would explain a few things though.

TIM BURTON
10th June 2001, 18:49
Hi Simon,
Welcome to E-budo by the way. I have researched the Kodokan Goshin Jutsu and you are quite correct in that Kenji Tomiki was one of the Kodokan sensei who greatly influenced its choice of technique.
Like the Kime no Kata its primary aim (in my opinion) is to expose Judoka to the different separated ma-ai they would encounter in certain situations, rather than the closed ma-ai they are used to operating at.

Simon Ford-Powell
10th June 2001, 21:48
Yes, Tim, I agree with the Ma-ai comment.

The difference between Goshin and Kimeno is quite marked, I feel.