PDA

View Full Version : Knife Fighting?

Neil Hawkins
15th August 2001, 01:37
This article from Black Belt Magazine is recieving a lot of coverage on the various e-mail lists (mostly negative).

Secrets of the Blade (http://w3.blackbeltmag.com/featurecontent/view.asp?article=24)

It features Lynn Thompson from Cold Steel and brings up some interesting points. Cold Steel make some good knives, what's Lynn's background?

Coments on the article?

Regards

Neil

joe yang
15th August 2001, 02:06
Hmmmmm?

Kolschey
15th August 2001, 02:21
Myself, I have no experience in any sort of knife instruction, so I confess that I probably was not able to determine what elements of the article would have been most likely to raise the hackles of more experienced practitioners. I would be interested in hearing more about the feeedback you have seen so far on other lists. I'm sure you have your own opinions too, which I definitely look forward to hearing!

Neil Hawkins
18th August 2001, 03:48
Well, I'm not going to quote from off-line lists, but suffice to say the responses mostly ridiculed Thompson, there was no detailed discussion on what they didn't like. Which is why I thought I would bring it here.

I have to admit that I didn't think it was that bad, there were a couple of things I don't agree with but on the whole it was common sense stuff. Much too general to pick holes in, you have to actually see the defenses and so on for that. I would be interested to see the next half and Thompson in action.

But I know you want my opinions so here goes. My main concern about the article is the fact that it is there at all, I don't agree with advocating the use of lethal weapons in street encounters.