PDA

View Full Version : Waki Gamate/Kesa Gatame tips ?

Benjamin Peters
22nd August 2001, 07:12
Dear e-Budo-Judo forum members,

I usually post on the Ko-Ryu and Ninpo forums, but I am hoping you will be able to provide me with some information on two judo holds :

(a) I am interested in your opinions on how to hold a successful 'kesa gatame' in the heat of competition. Thoughts ? ie How would you hold with 'kesa gatame' to stop the person trying to reverse the hold ?

(b) What are practical ways of escaping/reversing 'kesa-gatame'?

(c) How often to you see 'waki gatame' being used to win a bout in Judo ?

I would appreciate your help...after all I am no expert on Judo.

Thanks in advance ok.....

:confused:'kesa-gatame'

PRehse
22nd August 2001, 07:15
I don't know about Judo but in Aikido competition wakigatamae is one of the more common winning moves.

Benjamin Peters
22nd August 2001, 07:19
Hi Peter,

I would think that this would be the case especially in Aikido where the attacks/distancing (rules) are a little different.

But, when I was watching the Judo in Sydney 2000 I only saw very few, in fact only waki gatame once.......and that was lovely !

:smokin:

PRehse
22nd August 2001, 07:47
Hi Benjamin;

So true - says I knowing next to nothing about Judo - but the fastest wakigatamae I had applied to me was when I was belly to belly with my opponent. He just grabed my wrist an whoop - I was gone.

MarkF
22nd August 2001, 11:25
Originally posted by Benjamin Peters
Dear e-Budo-Judo forum members,

I usually post on the Ko-Ryu and Ninpo forums, but I am hoping you will be able to provide me with some information on two judo holds :

(a) I am interested in your opinions on how to hold a successful 'kesa gatame' in the heat of competition. Thoughts ? ie How would you hold with 'kesa gatame' to stop the person trying to reverse the hold ?

(b) What are practical ways of escaping/reversing 'kesa-gatame'?