PDA

View Full Version : Awareness and tactical situations????

Neil Hawkins
4th September 2001, 02:19
Ok, we started this in the knife fighting thread and as Gregory pointed out we were getting way off topic. I don't think we actually resolved anything though, so I'd like to explore the subject a little more.

I have to admit that my background is primarily military, and whilst I was operational I was never in what you would call combat. However there were very real dangers on many of the patrols we did, especially those against drug plantations. So whilst my experience may be little compared to the average LEO on the street, I have had the opportunity to train with and observe some of the worlds best special forces troops in my environment and I can say that they all had the quality that I termed zanshin, but we should perhaps call awareness.

Some had more than others, but all had it. Kit mentioned hypervigilance, which is slightly different in my opinion. To me hypervigilance is something that you switch on or off as the threat level increases and decreases. As the assault team enters the room it goes on so that they are supremely aware of what is infront of them. Now as Kit pointed out this can be dangerous, like looking through a rifle scope your perception is narrowed. The best troops know when to switch off this hypervigilance and return to a wider perception.

The awareness that I am talking about is not something that you have to put any effort into, your senses are hightened but not forced, you are not looking for something, you are just processing sensory data more efficiently. Now I can't really explain it better than that, I have experienced it and I have seen it in others, its not something you do, its just there.

I always considered that it was an instinctive thing that we all have from our days as hunter gatherers passed down and only tapped into when we need it.