PDA

View Full Version : Teach yourself japanese in 24 hours!

thomas.rolf
19th September 2001, 12:35
Even though the subject was supposed to be a joke, I'm interested in a japanese tutorial of some sort. I'm a beginner and I would like some tips on where to start, what book to read and so on.

Nothing beats hands-on experience, but util then...

TIA!

Thomas Rolf

Chi
19th September 2001, 12:54
...don't bother trying to teach yourself from scratch on your own... its extremely difficult to start learning, and I would advise at least getting some sort of a basis before furthering study on your own.

Instead check out your local school/college and see if they have any courses on basic Japanese. A night school course or something like that.

Some online tutorials courtesy of Yahoo:

http://uk.dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Linguistics_and_Human_Languages/Languages/Specific_Languages/Japanese/Lessons_and_Tutorials_Online/

As for recommended books... I quite like "Japanese for busy people" published by AJALT - Romaji version is ISBN: 4770018827 - A lot of people recommend getting the Kana version (ISBN: 4770019874), but this may be very hard to read initially, whilst you are still getting to grips with hiragana and katakana. I'm sure other poeple will have thier own particular favourites, so I leave that to them...

Hope this helps!

Chris.

Jeff Hamacher
20th September 2001, 07:39
Thomas,

i think Chris makes some good suggestions, but i beg to differ on a few points.

while a skilled teacher is very helpful, especially at the beginning, i don't think it's impossible to get started studying japanese without one. i would recommend that you do some of the rote work that a teacher cannot help with.