PDA

View Full Version : Uchinadi???

Joel Simmons
28th September 2001, 02:10
Aloha all,

Just what is Uchinadi? I practiced Shobayashi Shorin-ryu for about 2 years, but I've been out of the loop for a while. I had never heard of Uchinadi until I started playing around on the internet.

Any takers?

Mahalo

Doug Daulton
28th September 2001, 03:08
Joel,

In Hogen, a Ryukyuan/Okinawan dialect, Okinawa is called "Uchina" and hand is "ti" or "di". So literally, Uchinadi is "hand of Okinawa" or "Okinawan Hand".

You may have heard of Naha-te, Shuri-te, Tomari-te ... the regional antecedants of modern Okinawan Karate. Those terms reflect Japanese pronunciations of the Hogen names. In Hogen, they would be pronounced differently. For example, Shuri-te would be pronounced "Suidi" (Sue-ee-dee).

The term "Uchinadi" has recently become more widely known due to a two volume video of the same name by Oshiro Toshihiro Sensei. In addition, Patrick McCarthy's research society also uses the term "Koryu Uchinadi", to describe it's research into the historic martial arts of Okinawa.

If you are interested in doing some more online reading, check out the following links:<ul><li>Kata: The Enigma of Uchinadi (http://204.95.207.136/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7743)
<li>What is 'Ti' or 'Te' exactly.... (http://204.95.207.136/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=7797)</ul>Regards,

Doug Daulton

PS: As you are from Hawai'i, you may want to check with Charles Goodin. He is an excellent local resource (for you :)). In addition, there are many nisei and sansei (2nd & 3rd generation) Uchinanchu (Okinawan people) in the Hawai'ian islands. So, if interested, you may be able to find some more out through that network.

Joel Simmons
28th September 2001, 04:12
Aloha Mr. Daulton,

Thanks for the links. I spent a good deal of time reading those posts. I think I'm more confused. :karatekid