PDA

View Full Version : sword size

Lil Dave
15th July 2000, 01:02
I'm new to the whole sword arts thing, so I would like to ask a few questions. What are the advantages of a long handle, and the advantages of short one? How is blade length selected? In Yoshikawa's "Musashi", he speaks of a sword being just the right size for a particualar man. How would I determine how big is right for me? Thak you for any assistance you can give.

Dave Buck

hyaku
15th July 2000, 09:43
Originally posted by Lil Dave
I'm new to the whole sword arts thing, so I would like to ask a few questions. What are the advantages of a long handle, and the advantages of short one? How is blade length selected? In Yoshikawa's "Musashi", he speaks of a sword being just the right size for a particualar man. How would I determine how big is right for me? Thak you for any assistance you can give.

Dave Buck