PDA

View Full Version : Tradition or not tradition,that is the question !

HARDBALL
17th July 2000, 01:19
Hello all,
I am new to this site as of 7/16/2000. I am also new to the state of Maine (greater Portland area). I am very interested in traditional Jujitsu (not Judo). I visited a local dojo and had a long conversation with the Sensi who I found to be very nice and well informed. Although he was only 32 years old,he has been studying for some 20 years. I discussed my concern about wanting to learn a "complete" Martial Art,and learned that this Jujitsu system covered all the bases,i.e. Strikes,kicks,locks,sweeps,throws,grappeling,etc.
I am very interested in a traditional class of this type however,the problem is the cost,which is $90.00 a month for two lesson a week. Now I admit it has been a long time since I've studied but,$90.00 a month is a lot of money!
As much as I wish to study a traditional Jujitsu system,I may have to go with another dojo who's instructor (who was traditional in a number of Arts) now teaches a "Mixed Arts" system,which I am to understand is indeed a very very good dojo,who's students speak very highly of this mans system which consist of Boxing,kicking,and grappeling;and the cost is $60.00 a month for six days a week. I love tradition but... The instructor of the now "Mixed Arts" is well versed in Karates,Jujitsu,etc. and is very well known here in Maine. Your thoughts please.

Kolschey
17th July 2000, 01:36
Greetings,