PDA

View Full Version : Differences between Ryuha

Jeff Hamacher
2nd November 2001, 07:07
dear Okinawan Karate folk,

by way of introduction, i'm an aikido student with an injured/post-surgery knee who has therefore been avoiding aikido class for quite some time. my MA training at present is essentially ZNKR/SMR jodo, and while i love it, a planned move to the frozen wasteland of my birth otherwise known as "Canada" may strip me of the opportunity to continue jo training until such time as i can get back to Japan (i'm aware of some jo groups in Canada, but not necessarily where i want to live). i'm looking for non-knee-threatening options, and since i have it on good authority (read: Meik Skoss) that Okinawan Karate is a great art to study, i figure this would be a good place to go for ideas.

i think my subject line covers it all, but to clarify: What kinds of technical differences exist between the various ryuha of Okinawan Karate? i'm not trying to encourage a "my school is better than your school" hissy-fit-style flame war; the thing i would find most useful is a thumbnail sketch of Uechi, Goju, Shorin, and Isshin schools (as well as any subdivisions of those schools) according to the aspects of Okinawan Karate training that they emphasize. for example:

basic fitness/flexibility/strength training or "warm-ups"
specific techniques: punches, kicks, joint locks, blocks, pressure points, take-downs, throws
training methods: kata, pairs/solo, kumite/sparring

i will plead total and utter ignorance of karate at this point, so you're going to have to hold my hand through some of your responses, but don't feel obligated to write an essay. i have a pretty strong grasp of martial arts training in general, so that will probably save you some time. thanks in advance for whatever information you can offer; i'm looking forward to hearing from you!

PS Doug Dalton: happy to be the interloper in yet another forum under your moderation, sir.:D

Doug Daulton