PDA

View Full Version : classical/traditional

mawriz
30th December 2001, 09:34
can anyone explain me the difference between classical and traditional jujitsu? is one more effective than the other? can one concider any of them as sport or neither of them should be concidered as sport.(i'm new to martial arts) thankyou.

maurizio scicluna

Neil Hawkins
31st December 2001, 09:22
Hmm, hard question. To me it's a question of semantics, they can be the same thing, but I consider there to be a slight difference. Although I would not consider either to be a sport.

Classical (IMO) relates to a school that has remained unchanged, i.e. it is a true Koryu. Traditional (again IMO) is a school that holds the principles of its Koryu foundations but has continued to evolve.

This will probably start some debate, so I'd better elaborate whilst I can. :)

I do not consider a modern system that trains in Traditional ways to be 'Traditional'. The school must have unbroken links to its Koryu heritage, but for a variety of reasons it has continued to develop its style to add new techniques or modify techniques to fit modern attacks.

For example some schools (such as Tsutsumi Hozan and Shin no Shindo) have added pistol disarms, handcuffing techniques and police baton techniques. These techniques are developed from older techniques for knife disarms, tying with cord and short stick, but have been adapted to suit the modern application. The underlying principles of unbalancing and physiology are still there and most people will see the resemblance between the Traditional technique and the adaptation.