PDA

View Full Version : Randori

chris friedman
1st January 2002, 16:53
Who here practices traditional jujutsu and do you do any form of randori? If so how do you practice it? The reason I ask is I have been a bujinkan student for the last 9 years and they generally do not do any randori. Now I have trained in many other arts that practice randori and feel it is a helpfull tool for ones fighting skills. I have a freind that I have been teaching ninjutsu to and I have found several ways to incorporate some controlled sparring.We do controlled nage waza sparring where you slightly resist each other's throws in a free style manner. We practice free style defense against punches where one person has on gloves and he can throw three punches of any kind at you and you defend any way you like. So far I see no way to practice the dangerous techniques of ninjutsu in an all out fully resistant sparring match and that is fine but controlled randori is good training. I know jujutsu is similar in that the techniques are dangerous and not designed for sport so I was wondering how some of you trained in this area?

Aaron T. Fields
1st January 2002, 19:42
I practice a meji-period ju-jutsu, and we use quite a bit of randori. Control is the crucial component, (an the willingness to get banged around a bit,) we will also have free practice with focus on catagories of techniques.

Without free application of a particular technique a person really doesn't "have it." Randori is crucial in developing timing and pragmatic application. Most guys I have ever fought who have "kata only" training because their techniques "are dangerous" can't seem to make them work in a free setting.

My suggestion is to play with incorporating randori, and "free drills," not only is it good for developing technique but it is a lot of fun as well.

Jon S.
1st January 2002, 21:19