PDA

View Full Version : Fitness

Dark_Samurai
9th January 2002, 15:20
How many of you here are doing fitness in preparation for your budo?

:smokin:

Martin Leroy D

fifthchamber
9th January 2002, 15:46
Hi,
I currently train 6 times a week..Twice actually in my Dojo and the rest alternating between stationary cycling and high repetition weights and kihon (basics).
My current training times for each type of exercise is...Cycling-65 minutes, Kihon-20 to 25 minutes, Weights-15 minutes each day/session..this means that I train usually for almost two hours each weekday. Plus I have a half hour cycle ride into college before I can use the gym there and the same coming back home.
I am currently studying full time so I have the time free to do this but when I was working 9 to 5 I would train from 5 until 6.30p.m. so I guess it's become a habit.
It does help my Budo..certainly..and of course if you are fit you can perform better in any physical way than someone who is not.
So anything you find the time to do will benefit your training immensely. One word of warning though..Weight lifting can (if overused) lead to less flexibility and speed so it would be better to train for endurance,flexibility,and high rep muscle power in any exercise you can do. Also if possible it is always good to fit in extra training from your Budo as the body needs to adapt to the demands made upon it by training in budo and it is best to do this outside the dojo and learn the correct forms and new forms inside the dojo...It should not be the point of training in Budo to increase your fitness levels..That is a by-product of training. Get fit outside class and work on technique in lesson time to not waste your Sensei's (and your own) time.
Abayo.

Zoyashi
9th January 2002, 19:21
Definately!