PDA

View Full Version : Judogi-ology 101

Scanderson
27th January 2002, 01:24
I am getting tired of washing my blood stained (from knuckles) sweat soaked Gi after every practice. I only have one, as I am fairly new to Judo. In wrestling, the singlets wash and dry quite easily. Not so with the Judogi. Cold water wash and hang dry.

Do most of you folks have two or more judogis? I am thinking of getting a second - that way I can wash two together once and have a fresh judogi for each class. This will save water as well.

Now, the reason I am posting is I would like some shopping advice. I do this for fun and exercise, so I don't think I need a "Rolls Royce" judogi, like a Mizuno. However, what should I look for in a reasonably priced judogi?

I currently have an HSU Single Weave, and it seems nice and hardy and of good quality. Does anyone have a particular favorite they would like to comment on? Or perhaps some of the journeymen in this forum would be willing to share their brand preferences? There are alot of brands and price ranges out there. My real reason for wanting a second is for convenience - are most judogis all about the same, with the exception of the high end brands. Or do you get what you pay for, like with shoes?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or recommendations.

Stephen C. Anderson

BtC
27th January 2002, 03:04
Thanks for the reminder, I gotta get the blood out of my white gi!

I use toraki. I use the blue label ($100 canadian) and the white label ($80 canadian. They are nice and thick (especially the blue), well the white is a bit thin, if a thick gi is a must, get a bronze ($120 canadian), silver ($150 canadian, I think), silverblue ($190 canadian, I think) or a gold ($190 canadian, I think). Check out www.toraki.com

Bloodly knuckles arent very common at my dojo (mabey we take it too easy on each other) I wash my gis about once every 1-4 classes. Since I cant wash my blue and white gis together I use one gi while the other is in the wash.