Likes Likes:  3
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Aikijujutsu Technique: Shihonage

Likes (received)

Default Aikijujutsu Technique: Shihonage

I recently started learning this classic technique in my karate class (Tang Soo Do/Soo Bahk Do). I am wondering if there is a Daito-ryu version of this technique, what the Daito-ryu version is, or if you have any pointers for how to improve it in practice? Thanks in advance for all martial wisdom!

Jesse Peters

Likes (received)

Default Question

I have a question, first. Why are you being taught Shiho nage? I am not trying to be rude or anything, I just am surprised that a karate class would be studying a rather complex aiki technique. Ueshiba Sensei believed that a thorough understanding of shiho nage was key to understanding aiki. Are you doing the technique from a grasp, punch or weapons attack? It can make a small difference. I will say that the key to the technique is kazushi (unbalancing the opponent). If you can say what the attack is it will be helpful in discussing the use of this very classic technique.
    docphil

Likes (received)

Hakko-ryu Jujutsu contains the Shiho Nage principle as part of its curriculum.

However, from what I've seen of Aikido's Shiho Nage there is a significant difference in excution (and some of the details) between the two versions.

I suspect that both techniques/principles came from Daito-Ryu.

As Phil mentioned above, kazushi is a very important component of the principle in Hakko-ryu as well.
    John Cole

INFINOO Guest

Jesse Peters: First of all, I find it perfectly reasonable that your studying Shio-Nage in Karate.