Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Who are all these Shimabukuro boys?

Likes (received)

Default Who are all these Shimabukuro boys?

I have been researching the origins and lineage of Shorin Ryu. I have run into some interesting conflicts and have some questions some of you may be able to help me out with. The most interesting seems to be about the various Shimabukuro Sensei aout there.

As for my own lineage, I am studying Seibukan. The current headmaster is Zenpo Shimabukuro who assumed the title upon the death of his father, Zenryo Shimabukuro. According to an interview given by Zenpo to Dragon Times Magazine, Chotoku Kyan was his father's only sensei. Chotoku Kyan taught Shobayashi Shorin Ryu to Zenryo from 1930 until the war began. He claims that Zenryo studied with Kyan longer than any other student. He also states that the only other person to train with Kyan for any length of time was Nakazato Joen. (Bear with me, I am getting to my question.)

In another article published by Mark W. Swarthout, it states that Kyan's most noted student was Eizo Shimabukuro. It also states that he left Eizo in charge of Shobayashi Ryu. So question #1 would be:

1. Why was Eizo, not Zenryo or Nakazto, left in charge of Shobayahi Ryu? Especially since Kyan was Zenryo's only sensei and Eizo had a number of other notable sensei to influence him.

In yet another article, it states that Eizo began training with Kyan in 1937 (among others). Kyan died in 1945. So question number two would be:

2. Why is Eizo not mentioned by Zenpo in the Dragon Times article as another one of Kyan's students? Had Zenryo already left Kyan at the time? Another web page states that Zenryo actually instructed Eizo in 1955.

Finally, it seems clear to me that Eizo and Tatsuo are brothers. As I understand it, Tatsuo founded Isshinryu Karate. No? So, my final question is: