Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: motobu ha shito ryu kata

Likes (received)

Default motobu ha shito ryu kata

I have a question that maybe some of you can help me with. I am a student of Motobu ha Shito ryu. Over the past few years I have been looking at some of the larger Motobu ha Groups Including the Seishinkai , Kunibakai , and chikibukai. My question is how Shotokan kata such as Empi , Hangetsu , Nijushiho , Unsu , and other's have made there way into the kata syllabus ?

I have enquired via email to several of the groups and have yet to recieve a reply. I know that Soke Kuniba Shogo studied under several Okinawan masters but I have never read anything about him studing Shotokan. With the vast amount of Shito ryu kata I do not see the need to add additional kata to the list especially with doing the modified shotokan versions of Okinawan kata.

Just trying to find out why?
    Ron Davis
    Motobu ha Shito ryu Karate-do

Karate is not a sport, it is a way of life!

Gene Williams Guest

Demura seems to have been the biggest offender in this area by having his students do both JKA and Shito ryu kata. Remember, Mabuni moved to Osaka in 1927 and Shito-ryu literally exploded there because of his popularity. After his death, Osaka remained a Shito-ryu haven and I'm sure the inevitable eclecticism happened on occasion. Shito-ryu is not really a Japanese ryu at all, but its popularity in Japan makes everyone think it is. I never saw Kuniba teach JKA kata, but I was never a direct student of his. Anyway, all you Shito-ryu out there...STOP doing those JKA linear, cleaned-up kata

Likes (received)

I agree Shihan , I just wish these Shihan that are in charge of these groups would give me a straight and honest answer . Being from the Motobu linage I am sure they would not have added Shotokan kata. I also know there were many shotokan people that were joining the Seishinkai aswell as the NKJU. I am sure some of tese kata came from them.
    Ron Davis