Likes Likes:  0

Thread: Differences between certain throws

Likes (received)

Default Differences between certain throws

I have been doing a style of jujitsu for 3+ years whose nage is essentially that of judo, have watched countless video clips online, and now own three classic books on judo (Mifune's, Kano's, and Inokuma's), all of which I have studied religiously, but cannot figure out the exact differences between some throws. They are:

O GURUMA vs HARAI GOSHI
    These look exactly the same to me. For the life of me, I can't figure out the difference.

UKI GOSHI vs O GOSHI
    Apparently you don't load the uke quite so much on your back for uki goshi as you do with o goshi, making uki goshi much quicker than o goshi. Is this correct?

HIZA GURUMA vs SASAE TSURIKOMI ASHI
    Is the only difference between these that the sweep takes place at the knee for the former and at the ankle for the latter?

ASHI GURUMA vs TAI OTOSHI vs YAMA ARASHI
    The latter two especially look exactly the same to me .....

HIKIKOMI GAESHI vs SUMI GAESHI
    Same foot placement between the legs, so what is different?

SEOI OTOSHI vs (IPPON) SEOI NAGE
    The only thing I can come up with is that seoi otoshi is to seoi nage as uki goshi is to o goshi. That is, in seoi nage you load the uke up on the hips whereas in seoi otoshi you don't totally get them on your hips so it's a quicker throw.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Jonathan Dirrenberger
    Stanford Jujitsu Club

Likes (received)

Not exactly an expert, but here's my view on things:

O GURUMA vs HARAI GOSHI
    These look exactly the same to me. For the life of me, I can't figure out the difference.

I think Mark can explain this one better, as I'm not to certain about the o-guruma part.